ARCH is a regional coalition covering eight parishes of Louisiana: 

Acadia, Evangeline, Iberia, Lafayette, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Mary, and Vermilion.

ARCH’s mission is to ensure that everyone in Acadiana has access to safe, affordable, stable housing and that all episodes of homelessness are rare, brief, and non-recurring.


Continuum of Care (CoC) Funding 

On July 3, 2019, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) published the Notice of Funding Availability (NOFA) for the Continuum of Care (CoC) Homeless Assistance Program. The NOFA and HUD’s other CoC competition resources are available at

The Acadiana Regional Coalition on Homelessness and Housing (ARCH), serving as the Collaborative Applicant for the LA-500 CoC, is now requesting project proposals for the CoC Homeless Assistance Program.

ARCH serves the 8 parishes of Acadiana: Acadia, Evangeline, Iberia, Lafayette, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Mary, and Vermilion. Applicants serving these parishes must be a member in good standing with ARCH for at least one year prior to submitting an application for funding. Interested parties should review the HUD CoC NOFA as well as the ARCH Project Review, Rating, and Ranking Process Document for further information on eligible projects, the criteria for project selection, and the timeline of the application process.

ARCH will accept project proposals for all project types eligible under the FY2019 CoC NOFA. Agencies are encouraged to submit new project proposals for bonus projects and/or for new or expanded projects that may be created with re-allocated funds.

Letters of intent for renewal CoC projects are due on July 26, 2019.

Letters of intent for new CoC project proposals are due on Aug. 2, 2019.

No funding obligations shall be implied based on the information in this solicitation of CoC project proposals.

The ARCH Allocations Committee has review, rated, and ranked all submitted projects. The final FY19 Project Priority Listing scores are attached HERE: 2019-ranking

Click HERE to see the FINAL, CoC-Approved Consolidated Application and Priority Listing – to be submitted to HUD on Monday 9/30/19.


History of ARCH

ARCH meetings were held as far back as the late 1980s. ARCH began meeting on a regular basis in 1995 and submitted its first consolidated application to the Department of Housing and Urban Development in 1997 for Homeless Assistance. At that time, the priority areas included transitional housing and supportive services. Over time, ARCH’s priorities have slowly evolved and current priorities are centered on permanent housing, data collection and management, and quality assurance.

History of Continuum of Care

Priority Home, The Federal Plan to Break the Cycle of Homelessness, issued in March, 1994, fostered the concept of a comprehensive system of services and housing options, called a “continuum of care,” to help homeless individuals and families in local communities reach independence. This system and philosophy strives to fulfill these requirements with three fundamental components: emergency shelter, transitional housing with social services, and permanent housing.

History of Homeless Management Information System

In the late 90’s, ARCH applied for and received funding to implement a homeless management information system (HMIS) which would connect all of the homeless providers in this region so that client information and  referrals could be exchanged electronically. ARCH decided to use ServicePoint™ created by Bowman Systems and the system went live in December 2000. Since this time, HUD has mandated HMIS usage for all homeless programs except Domestic Violence programs. In Louisiana, all Continuum of Cares utilize ServicePoint™ software.[/vc_column_text]

Acadiana Community Stakeholders for the Homelessness Continuum of Care

15th JDC
232-HELP/LA 211

Abbeville United Methodist Churc
Acadiana Area Human Services District
Acadiana C.A.R.E.S.
Catholic Charities of Acadiana
Chez Hope
Downtown Development Authority – Lafayette
The Extra Mile Region IV
Faith House
Families Helping Families of Acadiana
Family Promise of Acadiana
Food Net Food Bank
Grace Place Living
Hospice of Acadiana
Iberia Homeless Shelter
Indivisible Acadiana
JCFA – Lafayette Charter
Lady Dems of Acadiana
Lafayette Consolidated Government
Lafayette Criminal Justice Coordinating Committee
Lafayette General Medical Center
Lafayette Habitat for Humanity
Lafayette Housing Authority
Lafayette Parish School System – Homeless Education Department
Lafayette Parish Sheriff’s Office
Louisiana Avenue United Methodist Church
Louisiana Department of Health
– Office of Public Health
– Adult Protective Services
– Nurse Family Partnership
Louisiana Healthcare Connections
Louisiana Workforce Commission
New Start Center
The Outreach Center
Salvation Army
SMILE Community Action Agency
St. Bernadette Clinic
St. Mary Catholic Church
St. Mary Community Action Agency
St. Paul’s Episcopal Church – Abbeville
Unitarian Universalist Fellowship of Lafayette
United Way of Iberia
Vees Sitter Services
Veteran Administration – Alexandria Medical Center
Volunteers of America Greater Baton Rouge – Acadiana

ARCH Board of Directors

Leigh Rachal – Executive Director

Blake Douet | President
Alton Thornton | Vice President
Darlene Lovas |  Secretary
Paul Broussard | Treasurer
Renee Menard
Stephen Bartley
Steven Barnes
Patrick Williams
Ann Hardy
Daniel Finch
Nikita Smith Logan
Corey Jeanlewis
Andrew Zegura

Governance Charter

Click here to download the most recent version of our Governance Charter.